The Resource Black edge : inside information, dirty money, and the quest to bring down the most wanted man on Wall Street, Sheelah Kolhatkar., (ebook)

Black edge : inside information, dirty money, and the quest to bring down the most wanted man on Wall Street, Sheelah Kolhatkar., (ebook)

Label
Black edge : inside information, dirty money, and the quest to bring down the most wanted man on Wall Street
Title
Black edge
Title remainder
inside information, dirty money, and the quest to bring down the most wanted man on Wall Street
Statement of responsibility
Sheelah Kolhatkar.
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
The story of billionaire trader Steven Cohen, the rise and fall of his hedge fund SAC Capital, and the largest insider trading investigation in history-for readers of The Big Short, Den of Thieves, and Dark Money Steven A. Cohen changed Wall Street. He and his fellow pioneers of the hedge fund industry didn't lay railroads, build factories, or invent new technologies. Rather, they made their billions through speculation, by placing bets in the market that turned out to be right more often than wrong-and for this, they gained not only extreme personal wealth but formidable influence throughout society. Hedge funds now oversee more than $3 trillion in assets, and the competition between them is so fierce that traders will do whatever they can to get an edge. Cohen was one of the industry's biggest success stories, the person everyone else in the business wanted to be. Born into a middle-class family on Long Island, he longed from an early age to be a star on Wall Street. He mastered poker in high school, went off to Wharton, and in 1992 launched the hedge fund SAC Capital, which he built into a $15 billion empire, almost entirely on the basis of his wizardlike stock trading. He cultivated an air of mystery, reclusiveness, and excess, building a 35,000-square-foot mansion in Greenwich, Connecticut, flying to work by helicopter, and amassing one of the largest private art collections in the world. On Wall Street, Cohen was revered as a genius: one of the greatest traders who ever lived. That image was shattered when SAC Capital became the target of a sprawling, seven-year investigation, led by a determined group of FBI agents, prosecutors, and SEC enforcement attorneys. Labeled by prosecutors as a "magnet for market cheaters" whose culture encouraged the relentless pursuit of "edge"-and even "black edge," which is inside information-SAC Capital was ultimately indicted and pleaded guilty to charges of securities and wire fraud in connection with a vast insider trading scheme, even as Cohen himself was never charged. Black Edge offers a revelatory look at the gray zone in which so much of Wall Street functions. It's a riveting, true-life legal thriller that takes readers inside the government's pursuit of Cohen and his employees, and raises urgent and troubling questions about the power and wealth of those who sit at the pinnacle of modern Wall Street. Advance praise for Black Edge "A tour de force of groundbreaking reporting and brilliant storytelling, a revealing inside account of how the Feds track a high-profile target-and, just as important, an unsettling portrayal of how Wall Street works today."-Jeffrey Toobin, New York Times bestselling author of American Heiress "Black Edge is not just a work of major importance, it is also addictively readable-and horrifyingly compelling. Sheelah Kolhatkar pulls back the curtain on the cheating, corruption, and skulduggery that underlie large swaths of the hedge fund industry and some of Wall Street's most fabled fortunes. This book is as hard to put down as it is to stomach."-Jane Mayer, New York Times bestselling author of Dark Money "Fast-paced and filled with twists, Black Edge has the grip of a thriller. It is also an essential expose of our times-a work that reveals the deep rot in our financial system. Everyone should read this book."-David Grann, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost City of Z
Cataloging source
MMI
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kolhatkar, Sheelah
Dewey number
364.16/8092
Index
index present
LC call number
HG4930
LC item number
.K65 2017eb
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
  • dictionaries
  • bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
OverDrive, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Hedge funds
  • Global Financial Crisis, 2008-2009
  • Financial crises
Label
Black edge : inside information, dirty money, and the quest to bring down the most wanted man on Wall Street, Sheelah Kolhatkar., (ebook)
Link
http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=155&titleID=2962932
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Antecedent source
unknown
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages [305]-336) and index
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Money, money, money -- What Stevie wants, Stevie gets -- Murderers' Row -- It's like gambling at Rick's -- Edgy, proprietary information -- Conflict of interest -- Stuff that legends are made of -- The informant -- The death of kings -- Occam's razor -- Undefeatable -- The whale -- Karma -- The life raft -- Justice -- Judgment
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 online resource (xx, 344 pages)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780812995817
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
2E0D1B37-868F-491A-9C6D-8655F66B0BAA
System control number
  • ocn969737293
  • (OCoLC)969737293
Label
Black edge : inside information, dirty money, and the quest to bring down the most wanted man on Wall Street, Sheelah Kolhatkar., (ebook)
Link
http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=155&titleID=2962932
Publication
Copyright
Antecedent source
unknown
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages [305]-336) and index
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Money, money, money -- What Stevie wants, Stevie gets -- Murderers' Row -- It's like gambling at Rick's -- Edgy, proprietary information -- Conflict of interest -- Stuff that legends are made of -- The informant -- The death of kings -- Occam's razor -- Undefeatable -- The whale -- Karma -- The life raft -- Justice -- Judgment
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 online resource (xx, 344 pages)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780812995817
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
2E0D1B37-868F-491A-9C6D-8655F66B0BAA
System control number
  • ocn969737293
  • (OCoLC)969737293

Library Locations

  • Beatties Ford Road RegionalBorrow it
    2412 Beatties Ford Road, Charlotte, NC, 28216, US
    35.2676379 -80.8555409
  • Charlotte Mecklenburg LibraryBorrow it
    310 N Tryon St., Charlotte, NC, 28202, US
    35.2285169 -80.839928
  • CorneliusBorrow it
    21105 Catawba Avenue, Cornelius, NC, 28031, US
    35.4833296 -80.8663023
  • DavidsonBorrow it
    119 South Main Street, Davidson, NC, 28036, US
    35.498441 -80.8505028
  • Hickory GroveBorrow it
    5935 Hickory Grove Road, Charolette, NC, 28215, US
    35.2229798 -80.730329
  • ImaginOnBorrow it
    300 East Seventh Street, Charlotte, NC, 28202, US
    35.2269427 -80.8398527
  • Independence RegionalBorrow it
    6000 Conference Drive, Charlotte, NC, 28212, US
    35.1764837 -80.757611
  • Main LibraryBorrow it
    310 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC, 28202, US
    35.2285213 -80.8421167
  • MatthewsBorrow it
    230 Matthews Station St., Matthews, NC, 28105, US
    35.1160092 -80.720516
  • Mint HillBorrow it
    6840 Matthews - Mint Hill Road, Mint Hill, NC, 28227, US
    35.1717049 -80.6610649
  • Morrison RegionalBorrow it
    7015 Morrison Boulevard, Charlotte, NC, 28211, US
    35.1517093 -80.8250892
  • Mountain IslandBorrow it
    4420 Hoyt Galvin Way, Charlotte, NC, 28214, US
    35.3350873 -80.9625991
  • Myers ParkBorrow it
    1361 Queens Road, Charlotte, NC, 28207, US
    35.1964537 -80.8295867
  • North County RegionalBorrow it
    16500 Holly Crest Lane, Huntersville, NC, 28078, US
    35.4406879 -80.8661493
  • Plaza MidwoodBorrow it
    1623 Central Avenue, Charlotte, NC, 28205, US
    35.2206234 -80.8132445
  • ScaleybarkBorrow it
    101 Scaleybark Road, Charlotte, NC, 28209, US
    35.1890888 -80.8773791
  • South County RegionalBorrow it
    5801 Rea Road, Charlotte, NC, 28277, US
    35.086541 -80.8137402
  • Steele CreekBorrow it
    13620 Steele Creek Road, Charlotte, NC, 28273, US
    35.1067994 -80.9910789
  • Sugar CreekBorrow it
    NC, US
  • University City RegionalBorrow it
    4045 North Tryon Street, Suite A, Charlotte, NC, 28206, US
    35.2575219 -80.7997242
  • West BoulevardBorrow it
    2157 West Boulevard, Charlotte, NC, 28208, US
    35.2111493 -80.8983269
Processing Feedback ...