Coverart for item
The Resource How fiction works, James Wood

How fiction works, James Wood

Label
How fiction works
Title
How fiction works
Statement of responsibility
James Wood
Creator
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating study of the magic of fiction--an analysis of its main elements and a celebration of its lasting power. Here one of the most prominent and stylish critics of our time looks into the machinery of storytelling to ask some fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we "know" a fictional character? What constitutes a telling detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is Realism realistic? Why do some literary conventions become dated while others stay fresh? James Wood ranges widely, from Homer to Make Way for Ducklings, from the Bible to John le Carr<U+00d4>e, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, How Fiction Works will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone else interested in what happens on the page"--
Assigning source
Book jacket
Cataloging source
YDX
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1965-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Wood, James
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Fiction
  • Fiction
Label
How fiction works, James Wood
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
First published in the United States by Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 249-252) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Narrating -- Flaubert and modern narrative -- Flaubert and the rise of the Flaneur -- Detail -- Character -- A brief history of consciousness -- Form -- Sympathy and complexity -- Language -- Dialogue -- Truth, convention, realism
Dimensions
18 cm
Edition
Second Picador edition ; Tenth anniversary edition, updated and expanded.
Extent
xviii, 265 pages
Isbn
9781250183927
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • on1000367017
  • (OCoLC)1000367017
  • 2409969
Label
How fiction works, James Wood
Publication
Copyright
Note
First published in the United States by Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 249-252) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Narrating -- Flaubert and modern narrative -- Flaubert and the rise of the Flaneur -- Detail -- Character -- A brief history of consciousness -- Form -- Sympathy and complexity -- Language -- Dialogue -- Truth, convention, realism
Dimensions
18 cm
Edition
Second Picador edition ; Tenth anniversary edition, updated and expanded.
Extent
xviii, 265 pages
Isbn
9781250183927
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • on1000367017
  • (OCoLC)1000367017
  • 2409969

Library Locations

    • Independence RegionalBorrow it
      6000 Conference Drive, Charlotte, NC, 28212, US
      35.1764837 -80.757611
    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      310 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC, 28202, US
      35.2285213 -80.8421167
    • MatthewsBorrow it
      230 Matthews Station St., Matthews, NC, 28105, US
      35.1160092 -80.720516
    • University City RegionalBorrow it
      4045 North Tryon Street, Suite A, Charlotte, NC, 28206, US
      35.2575219 -80.7997242
Processing Feedback ...