The Resource Mindfulness as medicine : a story of healing body and spirit, Sister Dang Nghiem., (ebook)

Mindfulness as medicine : a story of healing body and spirit, Sister Dang Nghiem., (ebook)

Label
Mindfulness as medicine : a story of healing body and spirit
Title
Mindfulness as medicine
Title remainder
a story of healing body and spirit
Statement of responsibility
Sister Dang Nghiem.
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Before she became a Buddhist nun in the tradition of Thich Nhat Hanh, Sister Dang Nghiem was a doctor. Born during the Tet Offensive and part of the amnesty for Amerasian children of the late 1970s, Dang Nghiem arrived in this country virtually penniless and with no home. She lived with three foster families, graduated high school with honors, earned two undergraduate degrees, and became a doctor. When the man she thought she'd spend her life with suddenly drowned, Sister Dang Nghiem left medicine and joined the monastic community of Thich Nhat Hanh. It is from this vantage point that Dang Nghiem writes about her journey of healing. Devastated by the diagnosis and symptoms of Lyme Disease, she realized that she was also reliving many of the unresolved traumas from earlier in her life. She applied both her medical knowledge and her advanced understanding and practice of mindfulness to healing. Through meditation she finally came to understand what it means to "master" suffering. In Mindfulness as Medicine Sister Dang Nghiem leads readers through her profound journey of healing and shares step-by-step directions for the techniques she used to transform her suffering"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
MiAaPQ
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1968-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Dang Nghiem
Dewey number
  • 294.3/657092
  • B
Index
no index present
LC call number
BQ950.A53
LC item number
A3 2015
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
NC Live e-Pub Central
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Dang Nghiem
  • Meditation
  • Healing
  • Suffering
  • Lyme disease
  • Buddhist nuns
  • Buddhist nuns
Label
Mindfulness as medicine : a story of healing body and spirit, Sister Dang Nghiem., (ebook)
Link
https://www.nclive.org/cgi-bin/nclsm?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/cmlibrary-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1977175
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource (347 pages)
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781937006952
Isbn Type
(e-book)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Note
Electronic reproduction. Ann Arbor, MI : ProQuest, 2015. Available via World Wide Web. Access may be limited to ProQuest affiliated libraries.
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • EBC1977175
  • (MiAaPQ)EBC1977175
  • (Au-PeEL)EBL1977175
  • (CaPaEBR)ebr11048825
  • (CaONFJC)MIL751450
  • (OCoLC)904440598
Label
Mindfulness as medicine : a story of healing body and spirit, Sister Dang Nghiem., (ebook)
Link
https://www.nclive.org/cgi-bin/nclsm?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/cmlibrary-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1977175
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource (347 pages)
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781937006952
Isbn Type
(e-book)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Note
Electronic reproduction. Ann Arbor, MI : ProQuest, 2015. Available via World Wide Web. Access may be limited to ProQuest affiliated libraries.
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • EBC1977175
  • (MiAaPQ)EBC1977175
  • (Au-PeEL)EBL1977175
  • (CaPaEBR)ebr11048825
  • (CaONFJC)MIL751450
  • (OCoLC)904440598

Library Locations

  • Beatties Ford Road RegionalBorrow it
    2412 Beatties Ford Road, Charlotte, NC, 28216, US
    35.2676379 -80.8555409
  • Charlotte Mecklenburg LibraryBorrow it
    310 N Tryon St., Charlotte, NC, 28202, US
    35.2285169 -80.839928
  • CorneliusBorrow it
    21105 Catawba Avenue, Cornelius, NC, 28031, US
    35.4833296 -80.8663023
  • DavidsonBorrow it
    119 South Main Street, Davidson, NC, 28036, US
    35.498441 -80.8505028
  • Hickory GroveBorrow it
    5935 Hickory Grove Road, Charolette, NC, 28215, US
    35.2229798 -80.730329
  • ImaginOnBorrow it
    300 East Seventh Street, Charlotte, NC, 28202, US
    35.2269427 -80.8398527
  • Independence RegionalBorrow it
    6000 Conference Drive, Charlotte, NC, 28212, US
    35.1764837 -80.757611
  • Main LibraryBorrow it
    310 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC, 28202, US
    35.2285213 -80.8421167
  • MatthewsBorrow it
    230 Matthews Station St., Matthews, NC, 28105, US
    35.1160092 -80.720516
  • Mint HillBorrow it
    6840 Matthews - Mint Hill Road, Mint Hill, NC, 28227, US
    35.1717049 -80.6610649
  • Morrison RegionalBorrow it
    7015 Morrison Boulevard, Charlotte, NC, 28211, US
    35.1517093 -80.8250892
  • Mountain IslandBorrow it
    4420 Hoyt Galvin Way, Charlotte, NC, 28214, US
    35.3350873 -80.9625991
  • Myers ParkBorrow it
    1361 Queens Road, Charlotte, NC, 28207, US
    35.1964537 -80.8295867
  • North County RegionalBorrow it
    16500 Holly Crest Lane, Huntersville, NC, 28078, US
    35.4406879 -80.8661493
  • Plaza MidwoodBorrow it
    1623 Central Avenue, Charlotte, NC, 28205, US
    35.2206234 -80.8132445
  • ScaleybarkBorrow it
    101 Scaleybark Road, Charlotte, NC, 28209, US
    35.1890888 -80.8773791
  • South County RegionalBorrow it
    5801 Rea Road, Charlotte, NC, 28277, US
    35.086541 -80.8137402
  • Steele CreekBorrow it
    13620 Steele Creek Road, Charlotte, NC, 28273, US
    35.1067994 -80.9910789
  • Sugar CreekBorrow it
    NC, US
  • University City RegionalBorrow it
    4045 North Tryon Street, Suite A, Charlotte, NC, 28206, US
    35.2575219 -80.7997242
  • West BoulevardBorrow it
    2157 West Boulevard, Charlotte, NC, 28208, US
    35.2111493 -80.8983269
Processing Feedback ...