The Resource Red dog : a Slim in Little Egypt mystery, Jason Miller., (ebook)

Red dog : a Slim in Little Egypt mystery, Jason Miller., (ebook)

Label
Red dog : a Slim in Little Egypt mystery
Title
Red dog
Title remainder
a Slim in Little Egypt mystery
Statement of responsibility
Jason Miller.
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "Pitbull fighters, shadowy ne'er-do-wells, and murder mark Jason Miller's wry, darkly atmospheric second novel in his Little Egypt series--perfect for fans of Frank Bill and Greg Iles. One hot summer day, in his home in the southern Illinois coal country known as Little Egypt--a Midwest Gothic wonderland of barren vistas, sinister hollows, petty corruption, and deeply strange characters--the self-appointed "redneck detective" known as Slim gets a visit from a shady-looking pair who introduce themselves as Sheldon Cleaves and his son, A. Evan, looking to hire him to find a missing dog. As a miner with a reputation for "bloodhounding"--tracking down missing persons the police can't find or won't--Slim is accustomed to looking for people, not pets. On the other hand, he needs the cash to fix his air conditioner. But when he pulls the thread that leads to the Cleaveses' red-haired purebred pitbull--and then the dognapper is discovered with his head blown off--Slim finds himself plunged into a world of underground dogfights and white supremacists. all because he just wanted to get cool. As bitingly funny as it is starkly violent, Red Dog marks the emergence of a new, gritty voice in detective fiction"--
  • "It's an insufferable, hot summer day in Little Egypt when Sheldon Cleaves and his son A. Evan darken Slim's doorstep. For a measly fee of $65, they hire Slim to find their Shelby Ann, a red-haired purebred pitbull, viewed more as family than dog. Desperate for funds to repair his air conditioner, Slim takes the case. It isn't long before Slim identifies the dognapper and is able to reunite Shelby Ann with her family. But when the dognapper is discovered with his head blown off, the local authorities suspect Slim. Set on clearing his name, Slim starts his own investigation, enlisting the help of his muscle-clad friend Jeep and his precocious daughter Anci, always game for sleuthing. But bloodhound-ing leads them down a treacherous path, right to the seedy underbelly of little Egypt where dogfights are held literally underground and a white supremacist group called the White Dragons seem to be calling the shots. The second mystery in the Little Egypt series, Red Dog is as bitingly funny as it is violent, marking the emergence of a new, gritty voice in detective fiction"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Miller, Jason
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3613.I53726
LC item number
R43 2016eb
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
OverDrive, Inc
Series statement
Slim in Little Egypt series
Series volume
[2]
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Private investigators
  • Murder
  • Dogfighting
  • Illinois
Label
Red dog : a Slim in Little Egypt mystery, Jason Miller., (ebook)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource (338 pages)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062449078
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
74D10557-AE9C-4965-941A-FD5B6313F4A3
System control number
  • ocn957265662
  • (OCoLC)957265662
Label
Red dog : a Slim in Little Egypt mystery, Jason Miller., (ebook)
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource (338 pages)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062449078
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
74D10557-AE9C-4965-941A-FD5B6313F4A3
System control number
  • ocn957265662
  • (OCoLC)957265662

Library Locations

  • Beatties Ford Road RegionalBorrow it
    2412 Beatties Ford Road, Charlotte, NC, 28216, US
    35.2676379 -80.8555409
  • Charlotte Mecklenburg LibraryBorrow it
    310 N Tryon St., Charlotte, NC, 28202, US
    35.2285169 -80.839928
  • CorneliusBorrow it
    21105 Catawba Avenue, Cornelius, NC, 28031, US
    35.4833296 -80.8663023
  • DavidsonBorrow it
    119 South Main Street, Davidson, NC, 28036, US
    35.498441 -80.8505028
  • Hickory GroveBorrow it
    5935 Hickory Grove Road, Charolette, NC, 28215, US
    35.2229798 -80.730329
  • ImaginOnBorrow it
    300 East Seventh Street, Charlotte, NC, 28202, US
    35.2269427 -80.8398527
  • Independence RegionalBorrow it
    6000 Conference Drive, Charlotte, NC, 28212, US
    35.1764837 -80.757611
  • Main LibraryBorrow it
    310 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC, 28202, US
    35.2285213 -80.8421167
  • MatthewsBorrow it
    230 Matthews Station St., Matthews, NC, 28105, US
    35.1160092 -80.720516
  • Mint HillBorrow it
    6840 Matthews - Mint Hill Road, Mint Hill, NC, 28227, US
    35.1717049 -80.6610649
  • Morrison RegionalBorrow it
    7015 Morrison Boulevard, Charlotte, NC, 28211, US
    35.1517093 -80.8250892
  • Mountain IslandBorrow it
    4420 Hoyt Galvin Way, Charlotte, NC, 28214, US
    35.3350873 -80.9625991
  • Myers ParkBorrow it
    1361 Queens Road, Charlotte, NC, 28207, US
    35.1964537 -80.8295867
  • North County RegionalBorrow it
    16500 Holly Crest Lane, Huntersville, NC, 28078, US
    35.4406879 -80.8661493
  • Plaza MidwoodBorrow it
    1623 Central Avenue, Charlotte, NC, 28205, US
    35.2206234 -80.8132445
  • ScaleybarkBorrow it
    101 Scaleybark Road, Charlotte, NC, 28209, US
    35.1890888 -80.8773791
  • South County RegionalBorrow it
    5801 Rea Road, Charlotte, NC, 28277, US
    35.086541 -80.8137402
  • Steele CreekBorrow it
    13620 Steele Creek Road, Charlotte, NC, 28273, US
    35.1067994 -80.9910789
  • Sugar CreekBorrow it
    NC, US
  • University City RegionalBorrow it
    4045 North Tryon Street, Suite A, Charlotte, NC, 28206, US
    35.2575219 -80.7997242
  • West BoulevardBorrow it
    2157 West Boulevard, Charlotte, NC, 28208, US
    35.2111493 -80.8983269
Processing Feedback ...