Coverart for item
The Resource Scarlet women : the scandalous lives of courtesans, concubines, and royal mistresses, Ian Graham

Scarlet women : the scandalous lives of courtesans, concubines, and royal mistresses, Ian Graham

Label
Scarlet women : the scandalous lives of courtesans, concubines, and royal mistresses
Title
Scarlet women
Title remainder
the scandalous lives of courtesans, concubines, and royal mistresses
Statement of responsibility
Ian Graham
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"In 1965, an impoverished elderly woman was found dead in Nice, France. Her death marked the end of an era; she was the last of the great courtesans. Known as La Belle Otero, she was a volcanic Spanish beauty whose patrons included Kaiser Wilhelm II, the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII) and Grand Duke Nicholas of Russia. She accumulated an enormous fortune, but gambled it all away. Scarlet Women tells her story and many more, including:Marie Duplessis, who inspired characters by both Dumas and Verdi; Clara Ward, a rare American courtesan who hunted for a European aristocrat, but having married a Belgian prince, ran away with a gypsy violinist; Ninon de L'Enclos, who was offered 50,000 crowns by Cardinal Richelieu for one night. Money left in her will paid for Voltaire's education.Courtesans were an elite group of talented, professional mistresses. The most successful became wealthy and famous in their own right. While they led charmed lives, they occupied a curious position: they enjoyed freedom and political power unknown to most women, but they were ostracized by polite society. From the hetaerae of ancient Greece to the cortigiani onesti of 16th century Venice, the oiran of Edo-period Japan to the demimondaines of 19th century France, this captivating book--perfect for readers of A Treasury of Royal Scandals--uncovers the rich, colorful lives of these women who dared to pursue fortunes outside their societies' norms"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1953-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Graham, Ian
Dewey number
305.409
Index
index present
LC call number
HQ111
LC item number
.G73 2016
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Courtesans
  • Mistresses
  • Women
Label
Scarlet women : the scandalous lives of courtesans, concubines, and royal mistresses, Ian Graham
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 255-282) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Les Demimondaines -- The Petticoat Behind The Throne -- The Ancient World -- Honored Courtesans -- Meanwhile In Britain... -- Princes of Pleasure -- The Americas -- Asia -- And The Rest... -- The End Of An Era
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
x, 294 pages
Isbn
9781250062635
Lccn
2015037443
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • ocn907965620
  • 1513087
  • (OCoLC)907965620
Label
Scarlet women : the scandalous lives of courtesans, concubines, and royal mistresses, Ian Graham
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 255-282) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Les Demimondaines -- The Petticoat Behind The Throne -- The Ancient World -- Honored Courtesans -- Meanwhile In Britain... -- Princes of Pleasure -- The Americas -- Asia -- And The Rest... -- The End Of An Era
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
x, 294 pages
Isbn
9781250062635
Lccn
2015037443
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • ocn907965620
  • 1513087
  • (OCoLC)907965620

Library Locations

    • South County RegionalBorrow it
      5801 Rea Road, Charlotte, NC, 28277, US
      35.086541 -80.8137402
    • University City RegionalBorrow it
      4045 North Tryon Street, Suite A, Charlotte, NC, 28206, US
      35.2575219 -80.7997242
Processing Feedback ...