Coverart for item
The Resource Shell : a novel, Kristina Olsson

Shell : a novel, Kristina Olsson

Label
Shell : a novel
Title
Shell
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Kristina Olsson
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In this spellbinding and poignant historical novel--perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Flamethrowers--a Swedish glassmaker and a fiercely independent Australian journalist are thrown together amidst the turmoil of the 1960s and the dawning of a new modern era. 1965: As the United States becomes further embroiled in the Vietnam War, the ripple effects are far-reaching--even to the other side of the world. In Australia, a national military draft has been announced and Pearl Keogh, a headstrong and ambitious newspaper reporter, has put her job in jeopardy to become involved in the anti-war movement. Desperate to locate her two runaway brothers before they're called to serve, Pearl is also hiding a secret shame--the guilt she feels for not doing more for her younger siblings after their mother's untimely death. Newly arrived from Sweden, Axel Lindquist is set to work as a sculptor on the besieged Sydney Opera House. After a childhood in Europe, where the shadow of WWII loomed large, he seeks to reinvent himself in this utterly foreign landscape, and finds artistic inspiration--and salvation--in the monument to modernity that is being constructed on Sydney's Harbor. But as the nation hurtles towards yet another war, J?rn Utzon, the Opera House's controversial architect, is nowhere to be found--and Axel fears that the past he has tried to outrun may be catching up with him. As the seas of change swirl around them, Pearl and Axel's lives orbit each other and collide in this sweeping novel of art and culture, love and destiny"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1956-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Olsson, Kristina
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9619.4.O45
LC item number
S54 2018
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women journalists
  • Brothers and sisters
  • Sculptors
  • Sydney (N.S.W.)
  • Vietnam War, 1961-1975
Label
Shell : a novel, Kristina Olsson
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
258 pages
Isbn
9781501193132
Lccn
2018010394
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • on1022679373
  • (OCoLC)1022679373
  • 2416794
Label
Shell : a novel, Kristina Olsson
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
258 pages
Isbn
9781501193132
Lccn
2018010394
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • on1022679373
  • (OCoLC)1022679373
  • 2416794

Library Locations

    • Morrison RegionalBorrow it
      7015 Morrison Boulevard, Charlotte, NC, 28211, US
      35.1517093 -80.8250892
    • Mountain IslandBorrow it
      4420 Hoyt Galvin Way, Charlotte, NC, 28214, US
      35.3350873 -80.9625991
    • South County RegionalBorrow it
      5801 Rea Road, Charlotte, NC, 28277, US
      35.086541 -80.8137402
    • Sugar CreekBorrow it
      NC, US
Processing Feedback ...