Coverart for item
The Resource The Mill River recluse : a novel, Darcie Chan

The Mill River recluse : a novel, Darcie Chan

Label
The Mill River recluse : a novel
Title
The Mill River recluse
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Darcie Chan
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"The sensational New York Times bestseller, The Mill River Recluse reminds us that friendship, family, and love can come from the most unexpected places. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more. From the outside, Mill River looks like any sleepy little Vermont town where everyone knows everyone and people never need to lock their doors. There are newcomers for whom this appeals, from police officer Kyle Hansen and his daughter Rowen, who are starting over after heartache, to Claudia Simon, the schoolteacher who is determined to reinvent herself. But on closer inspection, there are those in Mill River--including a stealthy arsonist, a covetous nurse, and a pilfering priest--who have things they wish to hide. None more than the widow Mary McAllister, who for the past sixty years has secluded herself in her marble mansion overlooking the town. Most of the residents have never even seen the peculiar woman. Only the priest, Father O'Brien, knows the deep secrets that keep Mary isolated--and that, once revealed, will forever change the community. Praise for The Mill River Recluse "[Darcie] Chan's sweet novel displays her talent. A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together."--Kirkus Reviews "A heartwarming story."--Examiner.com "A real page-turner."--IndieReader"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Chan, Darcie
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3603.H35558
LC item number
M55 2014
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Widows
  • Secrecy
  • Families
  • Cities and towns
Label
The Mill River recluse : a novel, Darcie Chan
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Includes reader's guide
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
2013 Ballantine Books trade paperback edition.
Extent
401 pages
Isbn
9780553391879
Lccn
2014017534
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • ocn865157989
  • 1364224
  • (OCoLC)865157989
Label
The Mill River recluse : a novel, Darcie Chan
Publication
Note
Includes reader's guide
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
2013 Ballantine Books trade paperback edition.
Extent
401 pages
Isbn
9780553391879
Lccn
2014017534
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • ocn865157989
  • 1364224
  • (OCoLC)865157989

Library Locations

    • South County RegionalBorrow it
      5801 Rea Road, Charlotte, NC, 28277, US
      35.086541 -80.8137402
Processing Feedback ...