Coverart for item
The Resource The last Jew of Treblinka : a survivor's memory 1942-1943, Chil Rajchman; translated from the Yiddish by Solon Beinfeld

The last Jew of Treblinka : a survivor's memory 1942-1943, Chil Rajchman; translated from the Yiddish by Solon Beinfeld

Label
The last Jew of Treblinka : a survivor's memory 1942-1943
Title
The last Jew of Treblinka
Title remainder
a survivor's memory 1942-1943
Statement of responsibility
Chil Rajchman; translated from the Yiddish by Solon Beinfeld
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Why do some live while so many others perish? Tiny children, old men, beautiful girls; in the gas chambers of Treblinka, all are equal. The Nazis kept the fires of Treblinka burning night and day, a central cog in the wheel of the Final Solution. There was no pretense of work here like in Auschwitz or Birkenau, only a train platform and a road covered with sand. A road that led only to death. But not for the author, a young man who survived working as a "barber" and "dentist," heartsick with witnessing atrocity after atrocity. Yet he managed to survive so that somehow he could tell the world what he had seen. How he found the dress of his little sister abandoned in the woods. How he was forced to extract gold teeth from the corpses. How every night he had to cover the body pits with sand. How every morning the blood of thousands still rose to the surface. Many have courageously told their stories, and in the tradition of Elie Wiesel's Night and Primo Levi's Survival at Auschwitz and The Drowned and the Saved, the author provides the only survivors' record of Treblinka. Originally written in Yiddish in 1945 without hope or agenda other than to bear witness, this tale shows that sometimes the bravest and most painful act of all is to remember
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
BTCTA
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Rajchman, Chil
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • maps
  • portraits
  • plates
Index
no index present
LC call number
D805.5.T74
LC item number
R35 2011
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
  • 1934-
  • 1928-2016
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Beinfeld, Solon
  • Wiesel, Elie
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
  • Treblinka (Poland)
  • Holocaust survivors
  • Treblinka (Concentration camp)
Label
The last Jew of Treblinka : a survivor's memory 1942-1943, Chil Rajchman; translated from the Yiddish by Solon Beinfeld
Instantiates
Publication
Note
First written in 1945, published in Paris in 2009
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Pegasus cloth edition
Extent
xx, 138 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9781605981390
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations, maps, portraits
System control number
  • ocn601106438
  • 1227915
  • (OCoLC)601106438
Label
The last Jew of Treblinka : a survivor's memory 1942-1943, Chil Rajchman; translated from the Yiddish by Solon Beinfeld
Publication
Note
First written in 1945, published in Paris in 2009
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Pegasus cloth edition
Extent
xx, 138 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9781605981390
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations, maps, portraits
System control number
  • ocn601106438
  • 1227915
  • (OCoLC)601106438

Library Locations

    • Independence RegionalBorrow it
      6000 Conference Drive, Charlotte, NC, 28212, US
      35.1764837 -80.757611
    • Mint HillBorrow it
      6840 Matthews - Mint Hill Road, Mint Hill, NC, 28227, US
      35.1717049 -80.6610649
    • South County RegionalBorrow it
      5801 Rea Road, Charlotte, NC, 28277, US
      35.086541 -80.8137402
Processing Feedback ...