Coverart for item
The Resource Valley of the moon : a novel, Melanie Gideon

Valley of the moon : a novel, Melanie Gideon

Label
Valley of the moon : a novel
Title
Valley of the moon
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Melanie Gideon
Creator
Author
Setting
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "The author of the critically acclaimed Wife 22 has written a captivating novel about a love that transcends time--perfect for readers of The Time Traveler's Wife, Time and Again, and the novels of Sarah Addison Allen. San Francisco, 1975.A single mother, Lux Lysander is overwhelmed, underpaid, and living on the edge of an emotional precipice. When her adored five-year-old son is away visiting his grandparents, Lux takes a solo trip to Sonoma Valley--a chance to both lose herself and find herself again. Awakened at midnight, Lux steps outside to see a fog settled over the Sonoma landscape. Wandering toward a point of light in the distance, she emerges into a meadow on a sunny day. There she meets a group of people whose sweetly simple clothing, speech, and manners almost make them feel like they are from another time. And then she realizes they are. Lux has stumbled upon an idyllic community cut off not only from the rest of the world but from time itself. The residents of Greengage tell a stunned and disoriented Lux that they've somehow been marooned in the early twentieth century. Having inexplicably stepped into the past, it is not long before Lux is drawn in by its peace and beauty. Unlike the people of Greengage, Lux discovers that she is able to come and go. And over the years, Lux finds herself increasingly torn between her two lives. Her beloved son is very much a child of the modern world, but she feels continually pulled back to the only place she has ever truly felt at home. A gorgeous, original, and deeply moving novel about love and longing and the power that time holds over all of us, Valley of the Moon is unforgettable. Praise for Melanie Gideon's Wife 22 "This modern-day, mixed-media comedy of manner is as up-to-the-minute as your favorite Twitter feed."--The Washington Post "An LOL Instagram about love in a wired world."--People "Vibrant, au courant, and hilarious. brilliant!"--Adriana Trigiani "Channels the playful but incisive vibe of Nora Ephron's You've Got Mail."--NPR "Fresh and funny. a delightful, thoroughly modern, guilty pleasure of a read."--San Francisco Chronicle "A skillful blend of pop-culture references, acidic humor, and emotional moments. It will take its rightful place. alongside Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary, Anna Maxted's Getting Over It, and Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It."--Library Journal (starred review) "I loved it, loved it, loved it. It's so funny and true and sad and real and clever. also so hopeful and wise and ultimately heartwarming."--Marian Keyes"--
  • "Lux is a single mom struggling to make her way in the world when she stumbles across an idyllic town in the Sonoma valley where she feels instantly at home. It seems like a place from another time--until she realizes it actually is. One night in 1906, an earthquake left Greengage stuck in the past. Lux must keep one foot in her world, raising her son as well as she can with the odds stacked against her, but every day she is more strongly drawn in by the sweet simplicity of life in Greengage, and by the irresistible connection she feels with a man born decades before her time. Soon she finds herself torn between her ties to the modern world-- her adored son--and the first place she has ever felt truly at home"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1963-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Gideon, Melanie
Dewey number
813/.54
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3557.I255
LC item number
V35 2017
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Single mothers
  • Mothers and sons
  • Home
  • Small cities
  • Sonoma Valley (Calif.),
Label
Valley of the moon : a novel, Melanie Gideon
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
394 pages
Isbn
9780345539281
Lccn
2016014813
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • ocn949850816
  • (OCoLC)949850816
  • 1821644
Label
Valley of the moon : a novel, Melanie Gideon
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
394 pages
Isbn
9780345539281
Lccn
2016014813
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • ocn949850816
  • (OCoLC)949850816
  • 1821644

Library Locations

    • Mint HillBorrow it
      6840 Matthews - Mint Hill Road, Mint Hill, NC, 28227, US
      35.1717049 -80.6610649
    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      310 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC, 28202, US
      35.2285213 -80.8421167
    • Morrison RegionalBorrow it
      7015 Morrison Boulevard, Charlotte, NC, 28211, US
      35.1517093 -80.8250892
    • MatthewsBorrow it
      230 Matthews Station St., Matthews, NC, 28105, US
      35.1160092 -80.720516
    • Plaza MidwoodBorrow it
      1623 Central Avenue, Charlotte, NC, 28205, US
      35.2206234 -80.8132445
    • University City RegionalBorrow it
      4045 North Tryon Street, Suite A, Charlotte, NC, 28206, US
      35.2575219 -80.7997242
Processing Feedback ...